The Glittering Court

27272506

by Richelle Mead

3/5 stars

We’re all in charge of our own lives–and we have to live with the consequences of the choices we make.

Adelaide is an aristocratic woman about to enter into an arranged marriage she knows will not satisfy her in order to save her family’s name and fortunes. And then The Glittering Court comes recruiting one of her servants, and Adelaide decides to take her place. The Glittering Court is recruiting girls to be trained in the skills of the upper classes in order to appeal as wives to men in the new world. This offers working class girls opportunities they never dreamed of and one thing they never thought they’d have: choice. It offers Adelaide this same freedom, though she comes from much different circumstances. But her world is complicated by the friends, rivals, and love interests that cross her path.

This went from a mix between Princess Academy and the Selection to a Western, more particularly Gold Rush-y (I am not usually a Western person). Everything felt based in American history. I honestly had no concept of the made-up countries and religions in this book. My head immediately transcribed them into their recognizable historical parallels. I don’t know if this was intended or not, but I would not describe this as a world that feels tangible to me on it’s own right now. Rather, in my head it is colonial America. If that was the intent, spot on.

Adelaide is pretty strong throughout, even when she’s out of her comfort zone. Though she did become slightly less interesting to me over time. I think some of this could have been the narrative losing its forward momentum. The novel is only around 400 pages, but it feels longer sometimes. Partly because a lot happens and a good amount of time is spanned. Still, Adelaide’s story is pretty well contained in this novel. Goodreads lists this as part of a series, and I hope it’s going to take a My Fair Assassins approach and follow different girls. I am very intrigued to follow the two closest friends Adelaide made in The Glittering Court. And seeds have definitely been planted for them to have their own stories.

There is obviously a romance angle in this novel. I say obviously because at least at Barnes & Noble it’s shelved in teen romance, and Richelle Mead is known for her romance plot lines in YA I think. I had no major issues with the romance. I was rooting for it. I liked the flirtations we got especially at the beginning. I did think the “jealous rival” we were introduced to was a little obvious and underdeveloped, but hey, if I lump this in with a romance novel structure it fits.

If The Glittering Court could fell somewhat plodding and predictable to me as a reader today, I also recognize this is the kind of book that I would have eaten up as a high schooler. I probably would have used it to ease my wait between A Great and Terrible Beauty books. I didn’t adore this book; I didn’t hate it. It was some nice escapism, but when I reached the last page I was okay with that.

3 thoughts on “The Glittering Court

  1. This is one of the most positive reviews I’ve heard of this book so far. I adored Mead’s Vampire Academy books, and the majority of Bloodlines and Succubus Blues, but lately her writing has been average at best.

    • I think average is a good way to describe it. I’ve also read the really bad reviews and was like, while I didn’t love it, it at least felt familiar. I’ve read much worse this year. And I’ve only read the first Vampire Academy book.

      I did have some qualms with the Glittering Court part and selling themselves into marriage but as I was mentally in history for the whole novel I was more like “yup that happened.”

      Have you read this one? Were you planning on tackling it?

      • I haven’t read The Glittering Court yet. I started Soundless but didn’t finish because I couldn’t stand the way it was written. The rest of the Vampire Academy series was markedly better.

Leave a Reply

